top of page

A mom is worth a million bucks!

A mom is worth a million bucks! Yes, dads too, but I am writing it for moms for now ...don't worry, dads, I'll do another blog post on how amazing you are soon.


My kids are now almost 7, 10, and 12 ...yes, in the next two months, our 9-year-old is turning 10, and our 11-year-old is turning 12. And wow, they are unique human beings, super intuitive, know how to express their feelings, negotiate to get what they want, and communicate well.


I'm so super proud of them and also proud mama moment!


Audrey presented me the other day with her 10-year birthday room redo. Since she is into gymnastics big-time, she wants to redecorate her entire room with this theme. She took the initiative and designed it all in 'Roblox,' like an Interior Designer. Little does she know how much work it took me 20 years ago to learn space planning at the Art Institute of Houston while studying Interior Design. Kids have so many fun new tools that enhance their learning experience these days.

She laid it all out; she even gave me a complete Amazon shopping list with all her items, including bed size, bed sheets, table lamp, and ceiling fan, and explained vividly to me where all her new electronics would be staged plugged in. She went into detail about matching her new iPhone cover with her bedding, and it's all of the course themed with girls doing their gymnastics poses.


Gymnastics has been part of Audrey's life since she was 3 years old; now, she competes every year and will soon be traveling to other parts of the US for her competitions.


The other day I was contemplating if I had done an excellent job as a mom for my kids so far, and wow, I got some answers right away when I reflected.


First, the many hours spent taking care of them while they were little, then later a good deal of hours driving them to sports, packing lunches, making sure they get the proper nutrition needed to compete, and numerous hours of consoling them when they didn't feel like going to practice.


I am also proud that I continued my Real Estate business along the way and went back to school several times to continue my education in Health and Wellness as well as Culinary Arts.


And why am I telling you all this? Because it's time to celebrate! I want to honor you as a mom! Cheers to the million things you do every day for your family!


It can get tricky sometimes and lonely, and there are moments we ask ourselves, did I do a great job? Should I have done more? But I think you are doing a fantastic job!


This morning hubby and I had a great talk with Mateo, our 11-year-old baseball soon-to-be superstar.

I am so proud of Mateo, started with soccer when he was 3, and played his heart out for several years. When he ventured into American Football, he entered a new world of intense training with heavy gear in 100 - degree weather. I was impressed by his adaptability to the almost military-style drilling. We quickly saw his body change from a lengthy, skinny guy to a strong young athlete. I feel tremendous gratitude for all the coaches in his life. Plus, my husband has been the most supportive of all in this new journey in our lives.


I know ... I know... when we have outstanding partnerships, credit is due! Thank you, Tim, I love you and love parenting with you!


I feel so grateful to experience this abundance with them, freedom of choices and opportunities, and to set an example for future generations.


Mateo finished his second season of Baseball this July, and I am so freaking proud of this kid; he stepped up big time in the past several months and started playing two different positions; one that impresses me most is being a catcher. He has such a calm demeanor and attitude and wants what's best for the team at all times.

It's been brutally hot outside, 100 PLUS-degree weather here in Houston, TX, and these kids don't give up; they play and play ball!

Do you ever contemplate these types of moments and accomplishments?


For me, this was a moment of reflection. I was thinking about the past ten years as a mom; raising kids is hard and takes a lot of energy and effort, and it is nice to see how it all comes together.


It usually takes time to acknowledge that I had much to do with it as a mom.


The many hours and years spent with the kids nourishing them not only with food but with positive energy. The many hours spent with them over dinner, asking them questions, and taking the time to listen all add up to something beautiful, and I am just sharing that AHA moment I just had.


I just don't know if we give enough kudos to moms for all they do (and again, dads also, and I promise I'll do another blog post for you guys).


You might be asking yourself, what about Lucia? What is she doing these days? Watch out because this girl is on a roll, dancing, singing, and modeling.


Feel free to drop me a private message or comment. I'm here to cheer you on your journey as a parent.






Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page